Detroit Bureau of Sound

avant garde / experimental / contemporary classical / improvisation / noise / techno / ambient / dada / live electronics /

Xenakis / Reich / Cianni / Cage / Oliveros / Plastikman / Schaeffer / Glass / Buchla / Smith


Sign up for our newsletter

The DBS mailing list is used sparingly to deliver you news about our happenings and the efforts of our friends and affiliates

… we will never email you too much, we promise.


on instagram @Detroitbureauofsound #Sounds4days

 john cage rave | cactus concerts | live techno

DBS channels:


Established in Detroit's 315th year
speramus meliora sonum


Zac bru

solo experimental/techno

DBS Director Zac Bru is a classically trained percussionist and pianist whose performances have been described “raw as mating bull elephants” (Lansing City Pulse, 2013). Encompassing styles of classical music old and new, 20th Century experimentalism, Detroit techno, and noise - you’ll never hear the same performance twice.

Zac is known for playing the cactus -a tradition from John Cage- and his blending of musical styles as an improvisor and composer. Recently Zac began performing sonic responses to different works of visual art, recently appearing in response to the “Fieldwork” exhibition by Larry Cressman at K.OSS Contemporary Art Gallery in Detroit.

Recent Appearances

June ‘19: Michigan Science Museum immersive audio-visual performance w/ Science Gallery and Schmidt Ocean Institute

May ‘19: Detroit-Berlin Connection, speaker on a panel with Ingrid LeFleur and Cornelius Harris

August ‘18: solo cactus techno set at Texture & Mutek present @ Marble Bar, Detroit

July ‘18: solo electro-acoustic composition “Rejecting Reality” @ Red Bull Arts Detroit

May ‘18: composition premiere of “Perfect Authentic” for Akropolis Reed Quintet+YAK at Playground, Detroit

March ‘18: composition “Architexture” for amplified percussion quartet premiered at Detroit Institute of Arts